Bihar Bypolls Araria Jehanabad and Bhabua

Casey Dawson
March 12, 2018

The BJP had fielded Kaushalendra Singh Patel from Phulpur.

Gorakhpur: Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath at a polling station to cast his vote for Lok Sabha by-election.

On the same day, the by-election for Bihar's Lok Sabha Araria seat and two assembly seats -Jehanabad and Bhabua- are also being held.

Seven candidates are battling it out in Araria parliamentary constituency. The bye-elections were necessitated for both the seats after Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated their constituencies following their election to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council.

Meanwhile, an FIR was lodged against Bihar BJP chief Nityanand Rai for allegedly violating the model code of conduct when he said "Araria will turn into an ISI hub if the RJD candidate won the seat" while campaigning in Narpatganj on March 9.

The Election Commission has chose to use EVMs and VVPATs in the bye-elections in all the polling stations.

Turkish FM: Afrin operation to be completed by May
The military also said only terror targets are being destroyed and that "utmost care" is being taken to avoid harming civilians. Manbij, the next main YPG-held town east of Afrin, is a particular flashpoint as it has an American military presence there.

The results will be out on March 14. In Gorakhpur, the BJP had nominated Upendra Dutt Shukla against SP's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel and Sureetha Kareem of the Congress.

The Araria lok-sabha bypoll was necessitated by the death of RJD MP Mohammed Taslimuddin. "The victory of our candidate Pradip Singh will, on the other hand, give rise to patriotic fervour".

In Araria, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Congress is pitted against the BJP-Janata Dal (United) alliance.

Though fourteen candidates are in the fray in Jehanabad, the fight is mainly between the RJD's Kumar Krishna Mohan and JD (U)'s Abhiram Sharma, who took the seat in the 2010 assembly election.

While the BJP led NDA is hoping to clinch the three seats on its development plank and upper caste- backward vote bank, the RJD-Congress combine is trying to queer the pitch for its rival by riding high on secularism and its Muslim-Yadav combination, especially in Araria and Jehanabad seats.

These bypolls being the first elections after CM and JD (U) stalwart Nitish Kumar walked out of the grand alliance and formed a government in alliance with BJP in July 2017, they are being widely viewed as a mini-referendum on the ruling NDA.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article