Murray masterminds Ireland's shock win over World No.6 India

Georgia Reed
March 11, 2018

Indian Men's Hockey team upped their game against Ireland to beat them 4-1 and recover from a massive upset caused a day earlier in a fifth-sixth match of the ongoing Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in Ipoh, Malaysia on Saturday.

Ramandeep Singh (10 minute) and Amit Rohidas (26th) scored for India while Shane O'Donoghue (24th), Sean Murray (36th) and Lee Cole (42th) struck for Ireland. But Malaysia pulled level, thanks to goals from Joel van Huizen (34th) Faizal Saari (27th).

They got the lead with Ramandeep coming up with a great finish to direct the drag-flick into the net with a tap in after he had injected the ball perfectly for the drag-flicker Varun Kumar.

India finished fifth with four points while Ireland accumulated three points in the round robin stage.

Though India conceded a goal in the 48th minute, the team's defence remained resolute throughout the match restricting Ireland's number of circle entries.

European Central Bank keeps interest rates unchanged
The bank has risen, slightly, its forecasts for real GDP (gross domestic product) since its last forecasts in December. The bank on Thursday left its key interest rates on hold as well as the size of its bond-buying stimulus program.

Ireland have yet to win a match with Wednesday's 4-1 defeat by the world number one side Australia more of the same following defeats to Malaysia, Argentina and England with a combined 17 goals against.

Juan Martín López (1st) and Gonzalo Peillat (11th) gave the 2016 Olympic champions 2-0 lead.

It was O'Donoghue who claimed the equaliser as he calmly placed the ball past the oncoming keeper; following a pinpoint pass from Chris Cargo to start the move and a skilful slip from Kirk Shimmins to the waiting O'Donoghue.

India pressed on in search for their second but Ireland held on until the end of the first quarter.

India earned another penalty corner in the 50th minute and another one towards the dying minutes of the match, but it failed to make use of both the opportunities. India's next goal came off Gurjant Singh in the 37th minute. Simranjeet Singh was responsible to win another penalty corner for India in the 56th minute but Varun Kumar's drag was deflected wide by Irish rushers.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article