Bumrah, Parthiv called up for South Africa Test series

Casey Dawson
December 5, 2017

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced Indian Cricket team squad for Sri Lanka's T20s and three-match Test series against South Africa. The surprise additions to the India's Test squad were India wicket-keeper batsman Parthiv Patel and Jasprit Bumrah, who has been recalled into the Test fold for the first time.

INDIA TEST SQUAD VS SOUTH AFRICA: Virat Kohli (C), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah.

The four frontline pacers - Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ishant Sharma - were certainties like spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

"With regard to Bumrah, if we look at his performance in the last 18 months, he has been sensational". He said that Bumrah's domestic performances have been taken into account and considering he played a crucial role in Gujarat's triumphant Ranji Trophy campaign, he deserved the opportunity. It was a unanimous choice and we had no doubts about that.

Left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav has been left out of the squad and Prasad insisted that the decision had more to do with the conditions expected in South Africa.

Clearing skies tonight; mostly cloudy skies push by Sunday
There will be a 10-20 percent chance of scattered showers through the afternoon and mainly for southeastern areas. Tomorrow night: Skies turn mostly cloudy as flow from the south-southeast continues to increase moisture levels.

"I really feel unfortunate for Kuldeep Yadav, he would definitely have added variety".

On Parthiv PatelÂ's selection as the second wicketkeeper, Prasad reiterated that he's being seen as the second stumper in the longer version after Wriddhiman Saha.

The squad for T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Capt), Rahul, Shreyas, Manish, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik, W Sundar, Yuzvendra, Kuldeep, Deepak Hooda, Bumrah, M Siraj, Basil Thampi, Jaydev Unadkat.

The squad features three uncapped players in Washington Sundar, Deepak Hooda and Basil Thampi.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article