Shreyas Iyer's inclusion in Indian cricket team reward for domestic consistency

Leigh Mccormick
October 24, 2017

"We will continue with him and nurture him", said Prasad.

MSK Prasad also clarified that whether Nehra will play the first T20 or not is subjected to the decision by the team management.

Shreyas Iyer recently scored two brilliant centuries playing for India A against South Africa A and New Zealand A, the first of which came against the Proteas in Pretoria where he remained unbeaten at 140 and helped India beat South Africa by 7 wickets.

Veteran Ashish Nehra has been picked only for the first T20I in New Delhi, which is slated to be his last match.

The national selectors have also chose to include Dinesh Karthik, who was named in the T20 squad against Australia. Whether he is going to play or not, it is clearly the team management and the selector on call, whoever it is.

The selectors have recalled KL Rahul as well for the series.

Shin Megami Tensei V officially announced for Switch
That should bode well for Shin Megami Tensei V's release hopes in the West, though no formal announcement has been made yet. It is a brand new, full-fledged sequel exclusive to the Nintendo Switch .

The wrist-spin duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal has once again found favour with the selectors with Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja being overlooked once again in the limited-overs format.

The committee also named the Board President's XI for two-day warm-up tie against Sri Lanka to be played in Kolkata on November 11 and 12. While Iyer has been a consistent performer for Mumbai and India A during the past one year, Siraj came into prominence after he played for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL. "He is doing well, he has been duly recognised and rewarded as well", he added.

"We are monitoring the workload of the players, rotational policy will also apply to the captain, but he is available for the Test series".

Senior speedsters Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Ishant Sharma are back in the squad for the five-day format along with Test specialists Cheteshwar Pujara and Wriddhiman Saha.

Naman Ojha (capt, wk), Sanju Samson, Jiwanjot Singh, B. Sandeep, Tanmay Agarwal, Abhishek Gupta, Rohan Prem, Akash Bhandari, Jalaj Saxena, C.V. Milind, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier and Ravi Kiran.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article