Ex-CM Dhumal on BJP final list for HP polls

Casey Dawson
October 20, 2017

Singh had two days ago that Vikramaditya would contest from his Shimla (Rural) seat. These include Anil Sharma (from Mandi), son of former Union minister Sukh Ram, who came from the Congress this month, chief minister Virbhadra Singh's sister-in-law Vijay Jyoti Sain (from Kasumpti), as well as Pramod Sharma (Shimla Rural), who has switched to the BJP from the Trinamool Congress. Congress MLA Rajinder Rana has been fielded from Sujanpur.

Late Ayurveda Minister Karan Singh's son, Aditya Vikram, is in the race from Banjar constituency. Virbhadra's arch rivalSukhiwnder Singh Sukhu will be in the fray from Nadaun, a seat he has won twice.

SHIMLA: If the BJP's list of candidates for Himachal assembly polls is any indicator, the party's central leadership has gone by the recommendations of its old warhorse and leader of opposition Prem Kumar Dhumal.

The state BJP Mahila Morcha president, Indu Goswami, who is known to be close to the Prime Minister, has been fielded from Palampur constituency, which is the hometown of former chief minister and Member of Parliament Shanta Kumar.

Moto Smart Speaker with Amazon Alexa
And with a 15-hour built-in battery, you won't kill your phone if you're constantly asking questions. If they're really intent on having Alexa wherever they go, then this seems like a no-brainer.

Dhumal and Himachal Pradesh BJP chief Satpal Singh Satti are among the party's candidates for the upcoming assembly elections.

Rakesh Verma has been nominated from Theog, a seat represented by Congress veteran Vidya Stokes for the last eight terms. Rajya Sabha MP Viplove Thakur will contest the election from the Dehra Assembly segment, which she had lost in 2012. Congress will be announcing the official list at the earliest.

With two holidays coming in between, October 23 is the last date for filing nominations for the elections on November 9.

Senior ministers in the Himachal cabinet have been asked to defend their turfs with Thakur Singh Bharmouri contesting from Bharmaour, G S Bali from Nagrota, Mukesh Agnihotri from Haroli, Sudhir Sharma from Dharamsala, Sujan Singh Pathania from Fatehpur and Dhaniram Shandil from Solan.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article